Happiness and your subconscious mind


happiness9-aristotle image credit: Good Search

Happiness isn’t about being blind to world conditions. It’s about doing what you can to make a difference, and not giving power to things over you have no control. You can still be happy and help out causes such as abuse, neglect and hunger.

Happiness is a habit. What a great habit to think about! When you wake up, do you chose to be happy? Do you chose to have the day flow in favor of good will, right action, and peace for all? Throughout the day, give thanks. Pay for success—not just for you, but for co-workers, family members, neighbors, someone you just met. When we bless others, it comes right back to us, so why not share the blessings?

Some people say they aren’t happy, and they prove it. They are miserable! Happiness is a habit, and that habit comes from practice, and desire. Sometimes we get benefits from our “issues.” Does not being happy mean others feel sorry for you, running around, trying to “make you happy?” Or maybe since your partner doesn’t like to go out, you stay home with them, to “make you happy.” It doesn’t work. Soon enough, they’ll find another reason for someone to “do” something to “make” them happy.

I actually don’t enjoy going to restaurants. They’re loud, often cold, and uncomfortable. If the chairs don’t move, they seem a mile away from the table. The food is fatty, salty and the vegetables (if you get any) are buttered and mushy. If the place is dark, I sense cock roaches near by. For my birthday, I request an at-home meal, even if I cook. (I don’t even request it anymore, it’s just a matter of what, and who’s involved now.) Having said this, external things are the cause, not the effect of happiness. I’ve had some wonderful times at restaurants—even on my birthday. Our thoughts are the cause, and the cause creates the effect.

It serves us well to know what we like and don’t like. From there, we can make choices. In the case of restaurants, I can just go with the flow and feed my soul with the friendship that surrounds me at the restaurant. Or, I can invite the person/people over to my place for a meal, a cup of tea—whatever. I can also see if a non-meal time works and offer up a hike somewhere or a museum visit. We really are always at choice. In the last year I’ve eaten out more than ever before. I’ve even enjoyed a lot of it. I also have plenty of people take me up on a comfortable, quiet atmosphere at my place, and have met some people in the morning, or after lunch for our social fix.

Have a Happy Day!

Leave a Reply

