Affirmative Prayer. Step 4 of 6. Claim It.


affirmative prayer

This forth step is known as declaration or claiming. So many people rush to this step, because it’s the step you claim what you want! In reality, rushing to this step is silly, because without the foundation of recognizing God, unifying with God, and pulling weed-beliefs – big whoop if you claim your desire, right?

Affirmative prayer is said in the present tense. If you say, “I will get that job…” it’s in the future. No matter how close it is, it’ll be out of reach. “I enjoy my perfect-right job…” is an affirmative statement. This is the stage to be very clear on what you want, not what others want for you. If you can’t get to a point of feeling your conviction about your prayer, re-think if it’s what you want. Is it your desire? Get excited about it on a cellular level. Get as many senses involved as possible. What does it/you look like? Does it have a delightful smell? Or taste? What are the sounds? What does it feel like? If you’re vague, the universe will give you vague results, because It matches perfectly to the extent we direct It.

If you don’t believe your desire is obtainable (or you’ve been praying for a really long time) investigate your belief surrounding your desire. Sure, being a millionaire would be nice, but if you don’t have the consciousness to draw to you that type of money, then you must first build the consciousness. The same is true for anything. This is why some people seem to demonstrate certain things right away. It’s all consciousness.

If doubt comes up, go back to steps one, two and three (recognition, unification and denial). Then, you’re ready to return to step four, declaration. At this stage, you’re directing the Law of Nature to heal you in-spite of you. Tell God that you’re willing to be willing—if you are. This works wonders in the area of forgiveness, moving through fear or any other sticking points we may fall into.

Why do we rush to the declaration step to tell God what we want, yet we haven’t spent time even recognizing and embodying with our Source? In stating your claim, remember the “how” it’s done isn’t up to you. It’s up to God. It’s really none of your business “how” our good comes to us. In the declaration step, your part is to place the order for your good.

If we become control-freaks with “how” things unfold, we won’t get far with prayer. We’ll only get in the way. I’ve had some wonderful experiences that came “out of the blue” that would have not happened if I outlined “how” I’d accept my good. Pray for your good, do your part, but be flexible and allow the “how” it manifests to surprise you! I didn’t know two places I planned to stay in Europe would burn down before my arrival. In Norway, a hotel gifted me with my stay because the place I expected to stay burned down. On another trip, the last flight out of Ireland arrived in Scotland late at night. I learned the closest place was over an hour from the airport, and it, too, had burned down before I arrived. I didn’t have a clue where I’d sleep prior to the news that my luggage not making the flight. The night-shift janitor worked around me in this small, rural airport while I slept on a row of seats, in gratitude. In the morning, the airport gifted me with breakfast and immense thanks for my attitude. My luggage arrived on the first morning flight. After a great start to the morning, I headed to another town, as planned. In New Zealand, I had a car given to me for six months. Things happen when we allow God to work without outlining “how” it should show up in our experience.

Being clear without outlining “how” is important. There’s a place between “I want a loving relationship” with is vague (a loving relationship can be with family, friends, or a cuddly puppy.) “I want to meet this person at a coffee house and they earn this amount of income” is outlining. State what you want. Leave the rest to God.

 

Leave a Reply

