I shall keep the promise


 photo credit: Claudia Mulcahy

I shall keep the promise that I have made to myself. I shall never again tell myself that I am poor, sick, weak nor unhappy. I shall not lie to myself anymore, but shall daily speak the truth to my inner Soul, telling It that It is wonderful and marvelous; that It is One with the great Cause of all Life, Truth, power and action. I shall whisper these things into my Soul until it breaks forth into songs of joy with the realization of It’s Limitless possibilities. I shall assure my soul.

— Ernest Holmes, Science of Mind Text Book

 

What if we lived each day (or even one hour of each day) keeping the promise? Our lives would take quantum leaps in quality. That would ripple out to others, and out even further. If we truly lived at this level, not a fake it ‘til you make it level, we’d daily speak kind truths to ourself, and to others. We’d teach by example, and help others be their best, too. We’d begin to believe we are the greatness we claim, yet we’d realize we are beyond what we claim. The claiming of our greatness isn’t ego, but responsibility. Our greatness means we are the guardian of animals, oceans, canyon paths. The world would have worked without being beautiful – but it is beautiful, and we are the caretakers. If we don’t believe we are wonderful and marvelous, how can we acknowledge the Infinite?

Sometimes I include in my prayers, “Help me to feel as loved as I truly am.” I’m always amazed with absolute joy what happens next. This past week I meditated on that phrase for a few minutes. I received cards, calls, money, flowers, dinner, was called to interview for a job I didn’t apply – and those are just the things off the top of my head right now. Try it. Acknowledge with gratitude. (God, Universe, Angels, Spirit Guides—whatever works with you to help you.) Ultimately, it is your inner Soul answering your prayer. Keep the promise.

Leave a Reply

